Working on my live CD recording last month got me writing again. As my psychiatrist Dr. Lee says, “it’s an anti-depressant” for me.

I’m currently working on an arrangement of my tune “Leveled Off” for Omni Brass. (2 trumpets, 2 trombones, and vibes). The tune is actually about that space where I’m in the middle. No depression, no mania.
I’m about 2/3 through the arrangement.

I’ve also started an a Capella version of Jerome Kern’s “I’m Old Fashioned.” It has men’s voices only with me singing the lead. Pretty fun to write! I it’s good, it may be included on the Moores School of Music Jazz Orchestra concert “The American Songbook” in April.

I’d like to also write an arrangement, or intro/endings really for “You Come From Rhode Island” to be recorded for my CD, Too Much Monday

So, I’m not depressed and I hope to keep writing when I have what seems like the inevitable slump. We’ll see, maybe I won’t get depressed soon. It usually occupies 2-3 weeks of each month in average.

I push forward!

20131217-074524.jpg